Spring 2003,
Volume 24, Number 1

Current Contents
back issues
Torch Editor
Torch Advertising
Torch Feedback
Address changes
Keep in Touch
About the torch
Order a Copy
Alumni Home
UVic Home
Uvic Torch Online

William Gibson
W.D. Valgardson
Former Chancellor William Gibson (VC ’31), considered one of the country’s leading academic physicians, has been named to the Order of Canada…Andrew Petter (LLB ’81) is the new Dean of the Faculty of Law, the school’s first alumnus named to the post. Petter served as a Member of Legislative Assembly from 1991 to 2001 and held a number of cabinet posts, including attorney-general…Faye Wightman, currently President of the BC Children’s Hospital Foundation will become the university’s new vice-president of external relations beginning July 15, 2003. Craig Pinder, a professor in the Faculty of Business, is the interim vice-president…Former head of external relations, Jim Griffith, was named an Honorary Alumnus by the alumni association…The Michael Smith Foundation is providing $20,000 per year for two years (renewable for a third year) to support the research of five graduate students—Patricia Ebert (PhD, Psychology), Carolyn Green (PhD, Health Information Science), Wendy Hoglund (PhD, Psychology), Josephine MacIntosh (PhD, Social Sciences), Mary Wagner (PhD, Biochemistry and Microbiology)…The UVic Women’s Conference is entering its seventh year and participants are welcome for the February 19, 2003 event. The theme is: Celebrating UVic Women: Past, present and future. All members of the university community are invited—students, faculty, staff and alumni. Contact: Diana Nicholson (250) 472-4131…Anthropologist and cultural analyst Michael Asch and versatile author W.D. Valgardson (photo top) have been elected to the Royal Society of Canada for their respective career accomplishments. They are among 36 current and former faculty members who are fellows of the society. The induction ceremony is on November 22 at Rideau Hall in Ottawa…Education grads—Kelowna high school science teacher Brad Talbot (MEd ’83) and Langford Alternative Education Program teacher Lee Curtis (MEd ’93)—have received the Prime Minister’s Award for Teaching Excellence…Conrad Brunk is the new director of the Centre for Studies in Religion and Society, taking over from the retiring Harold Coward. Brunk is a bioethicist with interests in religious values and technology, environmental ethics, and conflict resolution… Law Professor Jamie Cassels, currently serving as Academic Vice-President and Provost, has been named a 3M Teaching Fellow for educational leadership and his commitment to improving university teaching across disciplines…Vijay Bhargava, a leading researcher in wireless communications in the Faculty of Engineering, won the 2002 Graduate Teaching Award from the IEEE, a worldwide organization representing electrical and electronic engineers…Karen Bhangoo (BA ’98, MA ’01) won an inaugural J. Armand Bombardier Internationalist Fellowship of $10,000. She is studying for her PhD in conflict analysis and resolution at George Mason University in the U.S. Adrienne Kish (BSc ’01) also won the fellowship, assisting her pursuit of a master’s in space science from the International Space University in France…Karen Solie, an acclaimed poet and English PhD candidate, was short listed for the $40,000 Griffin Poetry Prize for her first collection of verse, Short Haul Engine…The Bamfield Marine Sciences Centre—UVic is a member organization—received a $900,000 donation from Don Rix, chair of Burnaby-based MDS Metro Labs. The gift will fund a new lecture theatre, labs, and meeting space.

Back to Ringside contents

© 2006 UVic Communications | Last updated: Wed, 4/26/06

Site Design by Rayola Graphic Design