UVic Torch -- Autumn 2007
Autumn 2007,
Volume 28, Number 2

Current Contents
back issues
Torch Editor
Torch Advertising
Address changes
Keep in Touch
About the torch
Order a Copy
Alumni Home
UVic Home
Uvic Torch Online


Alumni Awards for Excellence in Teaching

POLITICAL SCIENCE PROF. MICHAEL WEBB AND LAW PROF. GLENN GALLINS—who both inspire students by creating opportunities to learn by doing—are the recipients of the Alumni Awards for Excellence in Teaching.

Webb, winner of the “Harry Hickman Award” (the category designated for regular faculty members), emphasizes experiential learning, particularly in his guidance of the Model United Nations Club.

Gallins receives the Gilian Sherwin Award (for instructors) for his long-standing leadership of law students who gain skills by representing clients of the Law Centre Clinical Legal Education Program in downtown Victoria.

UVic Sports Hall of Fame

Gary Dukelow, MPA ’93, was a two-time Vikes rugby MVP (in 1978 and ’80) and he was a member of the Canadian team that earned a quarter-final berth in the 1991 World Cup, Canada’s best finish at the tournament. He earned 14 international caps and served as general manager of the national team.

Cross country and track star Robyn Meagher, MEd ’06, earned a silver medal at the 1994 Victoria Commonwealth Games in the 3,000 metres—a highlight of a career that included two appearances at the Olympics and two Canadian university championships during her Vikes career (1985-90).

Deb Whitten, MEd ’02, goalie for the Vikes women’s field hockey squad from 1985-91, was part of two national (CIAU) championships and four Canada West conference gold medals. She was captain of the Canadian national team from 1993-95 and helped Canada to a silver medal at the 1991 Pan-Am Games.

The Legacy Awards celebration, presented by the University of Victoria, is on Nov. 20 at the Victoria Conference Centre.

Back to Ringside contents

© 2006 UVic Communications | Last updated: Tue, 10/23/07

Site Design by Rayola Graphic Design