Yuishinkai Karate

We study the kata and applications of karate from the areas of Tomari, Shuri, and Naha in Okinawa. Introductory kata include Pinan, Naifanchin, Passai, and Kushanku. We also focus on self-defense applications of the kata.

Ryukyu Kobujutsu

We study the main weapons of the Okinawan islands. These include the bo (staff), sai (metal truncheon), tonfa (wooden flail), and kama (sickle). Kata training and self-defense applications are emphasized.

Overview of curriculum


Victoria Yuishinkai and Ryukyu Kobujutsu uses an “8 kyu” grading system. That means there are 8 levels before the first black belt rank. When students begin training they start at 8th kyu (pronounced “cue”) and move upward to 1st kyu. Students move up to a new rank by successfully completing a grading to test their ability and progress. The belt colour changes for each rank as shown below. For junior trainees (those less than 16 years of age), there are in-between gradings that contain approximately 1/2 of the material for the next kyu rank.  





Belt Colour

Jr. Belt Colour

8th kyu







White with red stripe

7th kyu







Purple with white stripe

6th kyu

Karate + kobujutsu (bo/staff)

Purple with yellow stripe

Purple with white and yellow stripe




Purple with 2 yellow stripes

5th kyu

Karate + kobujutsu (bo/staff)






Yellow with red stripe

4th kyu

Karate + kobujutsu (bo/staff)






Orange with red stripe

3rd kyu

Karate + kobujutsu (sai)






Green with blue stripe

2nd kyu

Karate + kobujutsu (tonfa)






Blue with brown stripe

1st kyu

Karate + kobujutsu (bo + nunchaku)






Brown with black stripe


Karate + kobujutsu


Black with white stripe







At each rank different techniques are introduced in the form of kihon, kata, bunkai, or kumite. Kihon are basic techniques put together in short sequences of movement. Kata are much longer sequences of movements. These kata sequences have self defense uses known as bunkai. Kumite sequences are used to apply the movements such as blocking, throwing, and joint locking.


The beginning material that students learn is also the main component for the first grading.


Kihon: Gourei Kihon Hachi Hou                                                                                                 

1) Ippon me: (ways to punch while standing)                                                                           

2) Nihon me: (ways to punch while moving)                                         

3) Sanbon me: Keri Sanpo (3 ways to kick)                                                                   

4) Yonhon me: Keri yonho (Kicking to front, back, left and right)                  

5) Gohon me: Hiza ate goho (5 ways to strike with the knee)

6) Roppon me: Shutou roppo (6 ways to use the sword hand)                                              

7) Nana hon me: Uke nana ho (7 ways of blocking)                                                   

8) Hachi hon me: hiji ate hachi ho (8 ways of using the elbow)                                            

Ukemi (breakfalling)                                                                                                          


Kata : Pinan Nidan                                                                                                                        

Bunkai: Pinan Nidan                    

Kumite: Kihon nana hon kumite                                                                                                


The curriculum for VIctoria Yuishinkai & Ryukyu Kobujutsu includes both empty hand and weapons training. After students have reached 6th kyu in Yuishinkai they begin to learn the use of Ryukyu Kobujutsu self-defense weapons. The first weapon taught is the long staff, or bo, followed by sai and tonfa and so on.


Yuishinkai logo representing the Japanese kanji for “Yui”. Yuishinkai comes from the Japanese characters meaning society (kai) of those with earnest and sincere (yui) hearts and minds (shin).