Math 100 Calculus I

Instructor: Jason Siefken
Office: SSM A457
Office Hours: TWF 11:30 - 12:30 and by appointment
Email: siefkenj at uvic.ca


Useful Links

Video and Reading Schedule

You have the option of either reading the textbook, or watching the videos, or both. All videos for the course are from Youtube. Go here and select the playlist corresponding to the appropriate chapter. Then watch the videos/read for the assigned section (each video is prefixed with the section number). After watching, check your understanding by making sure you can do the provided reading questions for each section.

Note that for some videos, only a specific time range is required. For example, a video may say (Up to 8:20) in the title, in which case you only need to watch the first 8 minutes and 20 seconds. Of course, you can watch more if you want! Videos with the (Optional) comment are there for your general knowledge, or because they are fun, but are not required for class.

Videos for each section listed on the schedule should be watched before that class day to ensure you have the knowledge for the day's questions.

Date Section Video Playlist Reading Questions In-class Questions
Tuesday, May 8 Precalc Review Download
Wednesday, May 9 2.1 Chapter 2 Reading Questions Download
Friday, May 11 2.2 Chapter 2 Reading Questions Download
Tuesday, May 15 2.3 Chapter 2 Reading Questions Download
Homework 1 Due
Wednesday, May 16 2.4 Chapter 2 Reading Questions Download
Thursday, May 17 Tutorial 1
Friday, May 18 3.1 Chapter 3 Reading Questions Download
Tuesday, May 22 3.2 Chapter 3 Reading Questions Download
Homework 2 Due
Wednesday, May 23 3.3 Chapter 3 Reading Questions Download
Thursday, May 24 Tutorial 2
Friday, May 25 Midterm 1 Solutions
Tuesday, May 29 3.4 Chapter 3 Reading Questions Download
Wednesday, May 30 3.5 Chapter 3 Reading Questions Download
Thursday, May 31 Tutorial 3
Friday, June 1 3.6 Chapter 3 Reading Questions Download
Tuesday, June 5 3.7 Chapter 3 Reading Questions Download
Wednesday, June 6 3.9 Chapter 3 Reading Questions Download
Thursday, June 7 Tutorial 4 Homework 3 Due
Friday, June 8 3.8 Chapter 3 Reading Questions Download
Tuesday, June 12 3.10 Chapter 3 Reading Questions Download
Wednesday, June 13 4.2 Chapter 4 Reading Questions Download
Thursday, June 14 Tutorial 5
Friday, June 15 Midterm 2 Solutions
Tuesday, June 19 4.3 Chapter 4 Reading Questions Download
Wednesday, June 20 4.4 Chapter 4 Reading Questions Download
Thursday, June 21 Tutorial 6 Homework 4 Due
Friday, June 21 4.5 Chapter 4 Reading Questions Download
Tuesday, June 26 4.6 Chapter 4 Reading Questions Download
Wednesday, June 27 4.7 Chapter 4 Reading Questions Download
Thursday, June 28 Tutorial 7 Homework 5 Due
Friday, June 29 4.8 Chapter 4 Reading Questions Download
Wednesday, July 3 4.9 Chapter 4 Reading Questions Download
Thursday, July 5 Tutorial 8 Homework 6 Due
Friday, July 6 4.9 Chapter 4 Download
Tuesday, July 10 5.2 Chapter 5 Reading Questions Download
Wednesday, July 11 5.3 Chapter 5 Reading Questions Download
Thursday, July 12 Tutorial 9
Friday, July 13 Midterm 3 Solutions
Tuesday, July 17 5.4 Chapter 5 Reading Questions Download
Wednesday, July 18 5.5 Chapter 5 Reading Questions Download
Thursday, July 19 Tutorial 10 Homework 7 Due
Friday, July 20 5.5 Chapter 5 Download
Tuesday, July 24 5.6 Chapter 5 Reading Questions Download
Wednesday, July 25 5.7 Chapter 5 Reading Questions Download
Thursday, July 26 Tutorial 11 Homework 8 Due
Friday, July 27 5.7 Chapter 5 Download
Tuesday, July 31 5.8 Chapter 5 Reading Questions Download
Wednesday, August 1 5.9 Chapter 5 Reading Questions TBD
Thursday, August 2 Tutorial 12
Friday, August 3 5.9 Chapter 5 TBD
Tuesday, August 14 Final Exam in ECS 124

Homework

Homework gives you direct and individual feedback on how well you are learning calculus. To get the full benefit from assignments, you should first do the core/suggested problems from the textbook and then work on the assignment.

Suggested Problems


Book SectionCore ProblemsSuggested Problems
2.1 5, 11, 13, 15, 21, 23, 27, 29, 31, 33, 37, 41 2, 8, 12, 16, 22, 24, 26, 28, 30, 32, 34, 35, 36, 42
2.2 1, 9, 13, 17, 21, 29, 35, 39, 43, 49, 55, 57, 61 2, 6, 12, 18, 22, 30, 34, 38, 44, 50, 54, 58, 60
2.3 5, 11, 17, 23, 25, 27, 31, 33, 41, 51, 55, 59 2, 6, 12, 22, 26, 28, 32, 34, 40, 50, 58, 60, 72
2.4 1, 7, 9, 13, 19, 23, 27, 31, 35, 43, 51, 55, 59, 71 2, 8, 10, 14, 16, 20, 24, 28, 44, 52, 56, 60, 68, 72
3.1 9, 11, 19, 23, 29, 33, 37, 41, 43, 45, 49, 53 10, 12, 20, 24, 28, 32, 36, 38, 40, 44, 48, 52
3.2 1, 7, 13, 19, 25, 31, 37, 43, 49, 53, 55, 61, 67 2, 8, 14, 20, 26, 32, 38, 42, 50, 52, 56, 63, 68
3.3 5, 9, 12, 13, 26, 29, 48, 52, 61, 66 1, 11, 15, 17, 21, 23, 25, 37, 43, 51, 60
3.4 1, 6, 9, 28, 30, 16, 45, 46, 55, 57–62, 64, 69 3, 7, 23, 31, 39, 47, 53, 63, 66
3.5 1, 3, 7, 8, 9, 20, 25, 38, 47–52, 55 2, 6, 19, 23, 27, 29, 31, 39, 41, 44
3.6 2, 3, 9, 10, 14, 15, 18, 29, 36, 40, 41 1, 5, 7, 11, 16, 19, 20, 23, 25, 26, 31, 37
3.7 3, 8, 14, 15, 19, 21, 49, 63, 67, 69, 72, 73, 88 12, 20, 32, 34, 37, 50, 68, 87
3.8 1, 3, 5, 11, 13, 21, 25, 27, 35, 41, 51, 56, 60, 62, 65 7, 9, 33, 46, 52, 59, 70
3.9 3, 5, 11, 17, 23, 25, 27, 35, 37, 43, 45, 53, 57, 59 4, 6, 14, 16, 20, 24, 32, 36, 38, 56, 60
3.10 3, 7, 11, 15, 19, 21, 25, 33, 42, 43 4, 8, 10, 16, 20, 22, 26, 34, 36, 44
4.2 7, 17, 19, 21, 23, 29, 33, 41, 45, 49 8, 14, 16, 22, 24, 32, 34, 42, 48, 50
4.3 1, 3, 5, 9, 19, 23, 29, 35, 37, 41, 47, 61 2, 6, 8, 18, 20, 30, 36, 40, 44, 46, 62
4.4 1, 3, 7, 11, 19, 23, 27, 31, 41, 48, 55 5, 8, 12, 20, 26, 29, 32, 42, 46, 50
4.5 3, 7, 9, 17, 23, 25, 29, 43, 49, 57 4, 11, 12, 20, 24, 26, 28, 44, 52, 56
4.6 1, 24, 26, 29, 32, 33, 35, 36, 45, 48, 63, 71, 76, 77–82 27, 30, 31, 34, 37, 41, 44, 46, 49, 50, 64, 73
4.7 2, 8, 11, 13, 15, 17–28, 35, 37, 42, 48, 53, 69 3, 6, 10, 12, 15, 46, 47, 50
4.8 1, 4, 5, 6, 8, 19, 21, 23, 26, 29, 35, 45, 63 1, 2, 10, 13, 16, 22, 25, 39, 40, 42, 45
4.9 2, 3, 4, 7, 9, 13, 15, 16, 17, 19, 22, 30, 48 1, 5, 8, 10, 15, 18, 21, 24, 49
5.2 3, 4, 7, 8, 17, 22, 27, 32, 34, 37, 39, 46, 56, 70, 76 2, 13, 14, 15, 35, 38, 41, 47, 53, 57, 67
5.3 1, 4, 12, 14, 19, 26, 29, 33, 38, 46, 47 6, 7, 8, 16, 17, 28, 30, 49, 50
5.4 1, 3, 11, 13, 19, 21, 31, 43, 45, 47 2, 4, 14, 16, 18, 26, 36, 44, 46, 48
5.5 1, 3, 5, 19, 27, 33, 39, 43, 45, 47, 65 2, 4, 14, 26, 30, 40, 44, 46, 48, 64
5.6 1, 13, 15, 19, 21, 33, 45, 47, 49, 55, 57, 67, 69 2, 18, 22, 24, 36, 46, 48, 52, 56, 60, 65
5.7 1, 5, 11, 13, 15, 17, 19, 27, 31, 33, 47, 49, 53, 55, 59 2, 6, 7, 9, 10, 22, 29, 32, 50, 52
5.8 1, 5, 7, 11, 13, 15, 19, 25, 35, 37, 39, 41, 43, 49 2, 6, 12, 14, 20, 24, 34, 40, 42, 44
5.9 1, 3, 7, 13, 17, 19, 21, 23 2, 4, 8, 14, 18, 20, 22, 24, 26

Precalculus Review

It is impossible to learn how to multiply numbers if you do not know how to add numbers first. Similarly, it is impossible to learn calculus without a solid understanding of precalculus. You should be able to do all the problems on the Precalculus review sheet before starting Math 100. If you need help reviewing precalculus material, Purplemath is an excellent resource.

Clickers

In class, we use iClicker brand clickers. You can obtain one from the UVic Bookstore, or if you already have a clicker from another class, you may use it in Math 100. After obtaining a clicker, you must register it to your name by going to My Page on the UVic website, clicking the iClicker tab under Student Services and typing in the serial number on the back of your iClicker. Registering your clicker is the only way to link your name to the clicker so that you can receive participation marks in the class.

Common Questions

Can I use the iClicker I?
Yes. In Math 100, we won't be using the iClicker II-specific features.
Do I have to answer questions correctly to get participation points?
No. Just having your clicker registered and responding to at least 80% of the in-class questions will get you full participation points.
Can I use a friend's clicker?
If you and your friend share no classes in common (in particular, your friend is not enrolled in Math 100), you and your friend may both register the same clicker with UVic and use it in your respective classes.
Will my clicker be useful for other classes?
If you are taking Psyc 100, Chem 101, Csc 100, Csc 105, or any number of other introductory courses, you will be required to have a clicker. So, in all likelihood, yes.
What happens if I register my clicker late?
When you register your clicker, all previous responses given by that clicker are retroactively linked to your name. This means if you answered questions on the first day of class and registered your clicker later that week, these questions will count towards your participation mark. That said, please register your clickers as soon as you can.


Calendar Description  |   UVic TimeTable  |   Math and Stats Course Pages