ESL Web Resources – 2010

Web sites below are located at http://web.uvic.ca/~swirly     updated Spring 2010

 

1• UVic English Language Centre = www.uvcs.uvic.ca/elc/

2• Vocab. Ex for the Academic Word List = www.academicvocabularyexercises.com/

3• ELC Study Zone (Uvic ELC online exercises)= http://web2.uvcs.uvic.ca/elc/studyzone/

4• UVic Student Computing Facilities homepage (computer labs) = www.sfg.uvic.ca/

 

ESL Link Resource Pages*NB the websites below contain links to a variety of ESL sites

5• Dave’s ESL Web Guide = www.eslcafe.com

6• David Appleyard’s ESL links = www.davidappleyard.com/english/index.htm

7• English Online (EL Easton) web guide (links) = http://eleaston.com/english.html

8• The Internet ESL Journal TESL/TEFL/EFL/ESL Links = http://iteslj.org/links/

9• English as a Second Language links = www.rong-chang.com/

10• ESL Web resource links = www.eslconnect.com/links.html

11• Lingua Centre = www.iei.uiuc.edu/student_internet_res.html

12• Tower of English = http://towerofenglish.com/

13• 1-Language.com = www.1-language.com/

14• English exercises = www.learnenglish.org.uk/

15• OWL English references @ Purdue University = http://owl.english.purdue.edu/

16• English Page online ESL/EFL resources = www.englishpage.com/

 

Educational Links

17• TurnItin (info about plagiarism) = www.turnitin.com  OR www.plagiarism.org

18• MLA writing style guide = www.ccc.commnet.edu/mla/index.shtml

19• APA writing style guide info = www.apastyle.org/

20• Citation Styles = www.bedfordstmartins.com/online/citex.html

21• Guide to Grammar & Writing = http://grammar.ccc.commnet.edu/grammar/

22• Online Resources for Writers = http://webster.commnet.edu/writing/writing.htm

23• Merriam Webster Dictionary (with sound) = www.m-w.com/home.htm

24• Longman's Dictionary (with sound+ images)= http://www.ldoceonline.com/

25• Cambridge Dictionaries (idioms & phrasal verbs)= http://dictionary.cambridge.org/

26• Canadian Online Encyclopedia = www.thecanadianencyclopedia.com/

27• Britannica Encyclopedia = www.britannica.com/

28• Wikipedia Free Online encyclopedia = http://en.wikipedia.org/

29• Search for scholarly (peer reviewed) articles online = http://scholar.google.com/

30• Canada's Schoolnet =  www.schoolnet.ca/

31• The Government of Canada = http://canada.gc.ca/

32• Great Canadiana links  =  www.fernbom.com/canada

33• Canadiana Links = www.cs.cmu.edu/afs/cs.cmu.edu/Web/Unofficial/Canadiana

34• Biographies of Famous Canadians = www.canadians.ca/     or

http://particle.physics.ucdavis.edu/Canadians/

35• Artist Direct (musician biographies) = www.artistdirect.com/

36• The Lyrics Library (words to songs) =  http://tinpan.fortunecity.com/blondie/313/

37• Movie Information = www.imdb.com  &  TV show info = www.tv.com

38• Movie/TV Scripts = www.script-o-rama.com  or

www.joblo.com/moviescripts.php

 

Grammar, Idioms, Listening & Pronunciation Links

39• Self-Study Quizzes for ESL Students = http://a4esl.org/q/h/

40• Learn English = www.learnenglish.org.uk  (search for “grammar”)

41• Sample Essay writing = Advanced Composition = www.eslbee.com/

42• Grammar content = http://elc.polyu.edu.hk/cill/grammar.htm

43• The Idiom Connection = www.idiomconnection.com

44• Grammar Bytes = www.chompchomp.com

45• English Club = www.englishclub.com

46• Grammar (EduFind) = www.edufind.com/english/grammar/

47• ESL Cyber Listening Lab (with transcripts) = www.esl-lab.com

48• English Listening exercises (with transcripts) = www.englishlistening.com

49• English Pronunciation (OUC) = http://international.ouc.bc.ca/pronunciation/

50• Pearson Brown’s Better English = www.better-english.com/grammar.htm

51• Gerry Luton's class 410G/490G website = http://uvic410-490.shorturl.com/

 

TOEFL, TOEIC & Other Testing

52• ETS Educational Testing Services TOEFL info site =  www.toefl.org

53• TOEFL Preparation on the Internet = http://eslny.tripod.com/toefl.htm

54• TOEFL (and other tests) info & sample questions = www.testmagic.com

55• Interactive Free English tests Online for TOEFL = www.english-test.net

56• TOEIC Canada = www.toeic.ca

57• LPI Language Proficiency Index = www.ares.ubc.ca/LPI/index.html

58• IELTS (International English Language Testing System) = www.ielts.org

59• TOEFL, TOEIC, IELTS practice questions & test info = www.examenglish.com

 

Media Listening & Reading: TV, Radio News & Newspapers

60• CBC ESL (Ottawa) (video clips) = www.cbc.ca/ottawa/esl/

61• CBC video broadcasts (television) = www.cbc.ca/video

62• BBC ESL  = www.bbc.co.uk/worldservice/learningenglish/index.shtml

63• VOA Learning English = www.voanews.com/specialenglish/index.cfm

64• NPR National Public Radio (USA) = www.npr.org

65• Non-North American English news (+ex.) = www.breakingnewsenglish.com

66• Public Broadcasting Service PBS:  Online news = www.frontline.org

67• Listening Resources = www.iei.uiuc.edu/student_internet_res.html#listening

68• UVic Library Video/DVD resource search = http://webapp.library.uvic.ca/videolist/

 

Tourism Links

69• Canadian Tourism Commission = www.travelcanada.ca

70• Lonely Planet (travel guide for all countries) = www.lonelyplanet.com

71• BC Tourism homepage (all types of tourist info for B.C.) = http://travel.bc.ca/

72• Google Maps = http://maps.google.com/  OR Expedia maps = www.expedia.ca

 

General Info

73• Statistics Canada (statistics about Canada) = www.statcan.ca/start.html

74• World Country info & Stats = www.nationmaster.com

75• List of Colleges/Universities worldwide = www.braintrack.com/

76• Resume & Cover Letter info = www.vault.com  & www.workopolis.com