group stuff

credit Eric Kershaw

Durrance LakeFraser Hof

Canada Research Chair in Supramolecular and Medicinal Chemistry
Professor, Department of Chemistry

Member, Centre for Biomedical Research
Member, Centre for Advanced Materials and Related Technology
Member, Editorial Advisory Board, Canadian Journal of Chemistry
Member, Editorial Board, Supramolecular Chemistry

Fraser was born in 1976, raised in Medicine Hat, Alberta, and got his start in chemistry with a B.Sc. at the University of Alberta. In 1998 he moved to the Scripps Research Institute in La Jolla, California to study supramolecular chemistry with Julius Rebek, Jr. After obtaining his Ph.D. at Scripps, he was a Novartis Foundation (2003) and Human Frontier Science Program (2004) post-doctoral fellow studying medicinal chemistry with François Diederich at the Swiss Federal Institute of Technology (ETH-Zurich). He took up his position at the University of Victoria in 2005.
Fraser takes his greatest pleasures from teaching, science, strong coffee, good beer, the great outdoors, and soccer.

1993-1998 B.Sc. University of Alberta
1998-2003 Ph.D. The Scripps Research Institute (Julius Rebek, Jr)
2003-2005 Novartis Foundation and Human Frontier Science Program post-doctoral fellow, ETH Zürich (F. Diederich)
2005-2011 Assistant Professor, UVic Chemistry
2011-2016 Associate Professor, UVic Chemistry
2016-         Professor, UVic Chemistry


2017  Intellisyn Pharma Research Excellence Award, Canadian Society for Chemistry 
2016  Canada Research Chair, Tier II
2016  Royal Netherlands Academy of Arts and Sciences (KNAW) Visiting Professor
2015  Royal Society of Chemistry Journals Grant for International Authors
2013  "Early Excellence" profile, J. Phys. Org. Chem.
2012  Canadian National Committee of IUPAC Travel Award
2011  Canada Research Chair, Tier II
2010  CIHR New Investigator Award
          Ichikizaki Award for Young Chemists, Canadian Society for Chemistry
2007  Michael Smith Foundation for Health Research Career Scholar Award
2004  Human Frontier Science Program post-doctoral fellowship
2003  Novartis Stiftung post-doctoral fellowship
2002  Skaggs predoctoral fellowship
          Louis R. Jabinson fellowship
          R. U. Lemieux seminar award, 85th CSC conference
2001  Jairo H. Arévalo award for academic scholarship and achievement
          Skaggs predoctoral fellowship
2000  NSERC post-graduate fellowship B
1998  NSERC post-graduate fellowship A
          University of Alberta gold medal in chemistry