2016 Constance Rooke Creative Nonfiction Contest Winner: Lynn Easton

The Malahat Review congratulates Lynn Easton on winning the 2016 Constance Rooke Creative Nonfiction Prize. Her entry, "The Equation," was chosen by final judge Lee Maracle from over 180 entries, our biggest creative nonfiction contest draw to date.

Lynn Easton will receive a fabulous book prize from Canadian publishers, publication in the Malahat's Winter issue, and of course, the grand prize: $1,000!

Lynn Easton

Congratulations to Lynn Easton, winner of the 2016 Constance Rooke Creative Nonfiction Prize!

Lynn Easton is a Maple Ridge, B.C., writer and a former journalist. She graduated from the SFU Writer's Studio in 2015 and is currently working on a collection of essays on intergenerational gender and class issues. Her story, "Nine," was included in the 2016 Caitlin Press anthology Boobs: Women Explore What it Means to Have Breasts. Her story, "Stickhandling," was shortlisted for the 2015 Room creative nonfiction contest.

An interview with Lynn Easton on her CNF Contest win will appear in the January 2017 newsletter.

"The Equation" will appear in the Malahat's Winter 2016 issue (#197), a special themed issue dedicated entirely to works by Indigenous authors in Canada.

Finalists for the 2016 Constance Rooke Creative Nonfiction Prize:

Samantha Albert, "Walking the Valley"
Carla Funk, "Rules of War"
Matthew Hollett, "Darkroom, Daydream"
Danny Jacobs, "Coffee Table Books"
Amanda Leduc, "Muscle Memory"
Elana Wolff, "Kafka at the Cemetery"
Vicki Young, "Brown Paper Bag"

The Malahat Review congratulates all its entrants, and thanks them for their ongoing support of our literary contests and endeavours!